Friday, September 13, 2013

I Amaze Myself

   If you would have asked me a year ago if I would be sewing today, I'd have replied, "Um, yeah. When pigs fly." But alas, I surprise myself with what I have accomplished in the last year. Well, in the last 6 months or so. I never would have thought I would be on this awesome path of creating fun and cool things and that I would have a great new sewing machine of my own.  All it took was buying a .97 cent pattern & some cute fabric on sale at Walmart.

                   Here is a before and after of a prom dress I rescued from  a local thrift store.....


This just proves that you can't doubt yourself and take a step of Faith out to try something new and different. Don't be intimidated by the unknown. You Can and Will amaze yourself!

Here are some other things that I've made in the past couple of weeks in prep for the Asheville Comic Expo (Comic Con) on Sept. 21st, 2013 at the Civic Center!







Thursday, September 12, 2013

Take the Good and the Bad...

WARNING: Some of this is a rant, so escape now if you want to!

  I know, I know. I haven't blogged in a while. That's becoming a pattern recently with so much going on... but can you blame me? In case you are wondering what I'm doing in the real world that is taking me away from Cyber space.... well, here it is. I have been sewing skirts, bows, bow ties, hair clips, revamping prom dresses, making jewelry... ALL for the up coming Comic Con in Asheville.  On top of that, my computer crapped out on me and is a big beautiful & expensive door stop.... but alas, I was forced to buy a new one. Thank you Dell for selling me a piece of crap.  Also, we are currently in the middle of buying a home, school starting for my son, Plus colds going around the household. Right now I have no Voice and it's driving me absolutely batty... specially when Hubs or our son calls for me from another room and calls until I walk in and make eye contact with them. Not always Easy! 

  Although with all of that going on, today as I took my son to school, I was forced to wonder where MANNERS have gone. Do people even know what MANNERS are anymore? And the scary part is, if they don't know, their children won't know either! What started me on this was walking through the school parking lot for drop off and I was almost hit by 2 parents in a Hurry to get to work. Really? You can't take an extra 30 seconds to be friendly & Spare our lives from being hood ornaments? On the way out of his school after drop off, I held the door as I always do, (because that's how I was taught!!!!) 4 people went through and never said thank you Nor even looked at me in acknowledgement that I wasn't a statue posted there by the school staff. 
  
  Something hit me today like a ton of bricks and I'm rather sore about it and I'm going to look into seeing if there are others out there dealing with this same thing. The thing I'm talking about is being the wife of a "Medical Professional" who deals with Pediatrics.... and with the single moms who have children as patients of my husband; keeping in mind how most women see a Man who "loves kids" and in that profession, and seeing how he "cares" (although in a professional manner) and interacts with their child. Knowing women see this as an attractive trait in a man, I'm noticing how this "wonderfully nice" mom isn't so nice to me when introduced. Now, you are probably wondering about what kind of person I am? ... I am an outgoing, friendly person that would give the shirt off of my back, give you my food if you are hungry, etc. 

  Having said all of this, I have already encountered some .... women who were nice to my face but weren't behind my back before my hubby got out of school. You can't tell me you don't have something for him (feelings) when you wear your tata's hanging out when he's around and Not out when around me

Here is what I have to say about this:

What you sow, you will reap. "What goes around, Comes around"... in other words. The hour a week you see him is All you see of him.... you are seeing his Professional side,... what he's PAID to do. He's not treating your child to get closer to you, he's doing it because It's His Job and that's what he's trained & paid to do. He is a Married man who made Vows to his Wife to take care of her (Wife) and their family. You may think I am  just the wife, but I will have you know that He and I are a team, we work together and we will protect each other and our family unit. I am not blind to the world around me. I'm watching.