Life never turns out how you want it to, but that's not always a bad thing. If you would have asked me 10 years ago where I'd be today, I would have said something like.....
I will be happily married, have 2 or 3 kids, coaching figure skating, becoming a bigger & better artist, Probably co-pastoring a church with my husband, living in Daytona Beach (where I'm from) ....
But as it turns out, I AM happily married with 1 child, a Stay at home mom, I've become a seamstress and I'm not involved in ministry anymore, at least for the foreseeable future and we moved to the Carolina's. There are No ice rinks around here, so that is on hold until someone decides to build one!
Some days are easier than others.... some days are harder than others. Considering all that has happened in the past 10 years, I would have never seen it coming, but it has made me stronger. No, I would not go back and do it again... there's no possibility of being able to, so why want to?
Do I miss how things were? I don't know. I do miss coaching and being on the ice.... as of right now, I'm Not missing ministry. I guess that's what happens when you get severely hurt by someone. Even though I have 1 child, he is more than enough for me.... for us. He keeps us on our toes and I love him dearly. Now that I sew & make jewelry, it's opened doors for me that I would have never thought would have opened in a million years. Now I sell some of my items on eBay and they've gone all over the world; I have become a Comic Con vendor, although I am currently only doing 1 Con a year because of personal reasons.
Along the way, I've met lots of interesting characters and am still friends with some of them. Others... we've just lost touch over the years.
It's amazing to look back to so many years ago and see how much you've changed, grown & Matured.
Monday, November 16, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Time Heals All Wounds.... Nope...
We've all heard the saying, "Time heals all wounds"... well, it isn't always true. Sometimes more wounds happen! Anyway, to get on with it... Since I last posted, I've been poked, prodded, stuck, scoped, probed, MRI'd, etc.,But we did find out that I've been Misdiagnosed all these years.
Imagine that. It seems I have "Crohn's" instead of "Ulcerative Colitis"... this being found out through my last scoping by my new GI. I did dump the last Dr. and their office due to how crappy they treated me of which that's a long story for another day. This new Doctor and office are absolutely AMAZING. They've been on the ball with everything, treated me like a Human and not a number! Also, I will be dropping one med. and starting a new one very soon. This one will be IV infusions.... I prefer pills, but if this is what it takes to get back on the road to feeling better, then so be it!
I have been doing some sewing lately and I have listed a bunch of awesome handmade items on eBay, so make sure you check those out HERE and get some early Christmas Shopping under your belt!
Tata for now, Ya'll~
Imagine that. It seems I have "Crohn's" instead of "Ulcerative Colitis"... this being found out through my last scoping by my new GI. I did dump the last Dr. and their office due to how crappy they treated me of which that's a long story for another day. This new Doctor and office are absolutely AMAZING. They've been on the ball with everything, treated me like a Human and not a number! Also, I will be dropping one med. and starting a new one very soon. This one will be IV infusions.... I prefer pills, but if this is what it takes to get back on the road to feeling better, then so be it!
I have been doing some sewing lately and I have listed a bunch of awesome handmade items on eBay, so make sure you check those out HERE and get some early Christmas Shopping under your belt!
Tata for now, Ya'll~
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
On the Mend!
It's been a good while since I've been on here. There's good reason.... well, not ... "Good" reason.... ok... there's A reason for that.
I had been very sick for a few months and didn't realize how sick I was until I decided it was time to get medical help and go to the ER last month. With U.C., dehydration is a factor when you have a flare up. I knew I was dehydrated, anemic and had low potassium... I had blood work done a few weeks before revealing this. Naturally I couldn't fix it on my own... I ended up in the hospital for 5 days! I knew I would probably be admitted, which has happened in the past, and I was slightly relieved that I would finally be getting back on the path to wellness. Or, at least feeling better!
While in the hospital, I had a blood transfusion, was given potassium, lots of IV fluids, even had to have minor surgery of which I was in danger of becoming septic (which I didn't realize at that moment) and had upwards of 20+ IV bags of antibiotics in about a 2/3 day period.
So, now it's a good 4 weeks since I've been out and I'm feeling and doing much better, although not back to 100%. I've had medications added temporarily and others upped. Some of the side effects of the meds suck, but it's a trade off for getting better. Finally!
I have been making some awesome jewelry which I plan on listing soon... I am currently working on a "Walking Dead" hand bag as well as customizing some up cycled bottles. When I try to rest, (the meds make me tired!) all I can do is think of things to make .... naps are hard to come by. lol
Make sure you go on Facebook and find my page! ATOMIC CAT CREATIONS!
I had been very sick for a few months and didn't realize how sick I was until I decided it was time to get medical help and go to the ER last month. With U.C., dehydration is a factor when you have a flare up. I knew I was dehydrated, anemic and had low potassium... I had blood work done a few weeks before revealing this. Naturally I couldn't fix it on my own... I ended up in the hospital for 5 days! I knew I would probably be admitted, which has happened in the past, and I was slightly relieved that I would finally be getting back on the path to wellness. Or, at least feeling better!
While in the hospital, I had a blood transfusion, was given potassium, lots of IV fluids, even had to have minor surgery of which I was in danger of becoming septic (which I didn't realize at that moment) and had upwards of 20+ IV bags of antibiotics in about a 2/3 day period.
So, now it's a good 4 weeks since I've been out and I'm feeling and doing much better, although not back to 100%. I've had medications added temporarily and others upped. Some of the side effects of the meds suck, but it's a trade off for getting better. Finally!
I have been making some awesome jewelry which I plan on listing soon... I am currently working on a "Walking Dead" hand bag as well as customizing some up cycled bottles. When I try to rest, (the meds make me tired!) all I can do is think of things to make .... naps are hard to come by. lol
Make sure you go on Facebook and find my page! ATOMIC CAT CREATIONS!
Sunday, March 29, 2015
Just Cut It Off
Recently, I have found myself in an odd position. By that, I mean that Something that looks good, Godly and that I Need to press on, but if I press on, it will be detrimental to my health and my relationship with Christ. It has come to the point that I must "Just Cut It Off".... and IT being my relationship with an organization. I realize that Not everything that Looks Godly is what God actually has for you, even though I may be the "perfect person" for the Job. The devil has been known to use something seemingly good to distract you from what God is really wanting you to do.... but you have to know how to recognize when this is happening and not let a Religious Spirit guilt you into staying in that situation.
When I was in college, I became deathly ill and I only had 4 months, 4 MONTHS until graduation. I finally told God that I couldn't handle anymore, and knowing He won't give you more than you can handle, He got me out of a bad situation that if I would have continued in... drudged through, I may have actually died. Because of having Godly and Biblical knowledge.... Having a relationship with Christ and trusting that He can work things out for me.... I left college and went home to live with my parents for several months to recoop before I got married to my amazing husband later that year.
I believe that when we've reached that point that we can't handle anymore, God can and will put someone in that place that I was in to fill my shoes for the people I may have left hanging. God knows my heart and I know that the decisions I have to make will work out for good.
Having said that, I want to clarify that I whole heartedly do NOT believe that "Everything Happens for a Reason"..... There is an Enemy that the Bible talks about that comes to KILL, STEAL and DESTROY. If something catastrophic were Meant to happen, Why did God GIVE us the tools to put the Devil in his place and Run him off? That's Contradictory and incorrect. Jesus DIED and got the keys from Hell and even told us "What I did, you will do and Greater!" The reason bad things happen to "good people" is because "for the lack of Knowledge, my people Parish"..... because they don't know Who they are in Christ and the Authority that was Given to them. In turn, this is terribly sad that people, more and more are believing this Calvinistic LIE that "Everything happens for a reason".
"God! Why did you let ______ happen?!" and he's simply shaking his head and saying "I gave you the Power. I gave you the Authority.... why didn't You do anything about it?" BUT, people don't want responsibility for their actions, so it's just easier to Blame God.
God gave us dominion over the Fish of the Sea, the Fowl of the air, the EARTH and everything that Creeps on the earth!! He made us seated at the right hand of God the Father because of Jesus! He made us Kings and Priests in Him! He made us MORE than Conquerors!! We are to Preach, Heal & Deliver! Does that sound like we are powerless? NO. (If you want the scriptures, I will find them for these) Jesus turned water into wine, walked on water, raised the dead, cleansed the leapers, healed the sick, FREELY YOU HAVE RECEIVED, FREELY GIVE. Also, James 4:7 says "Submit to God, RESIST the DEVIL and He will FLEE from you!" Does that one scripture sound like we're supposed to roll over and take what the devil is throwing at us? NO. He's giving a command!!
So, with all of this said, I cannot believe a Lie that Christians are taking Hook, Line and Sinker. There was a body of believers in the Bible that I believe Paul preached to; He commended them for researching what he said to make sure he was Preaching correctly and Rightly Dividing the Word!
That doesn't happen too much in this day and age anymore and people are wondering where God is. It's because they aren't SEEKING Him... they are just expecting everything to fall into their laps.
Even though we were investing so much into this place, we no longer can. There comes a time when you must break free and do what the Lord would have you do, even if it's not what Others want and try to convince you to do. Hear the Holy Spirit for Yourself. Depend on His leading and guiding.... People can make Mistakes, The Holy Spirit is a comforter and teacher. Trust Him.
Thursday, March 12, 2015
Chronic Pain In the Rump....
And I mean that title literally and as a pun.
I've had Ulcerative Colitis since I was 11 years old. Back then, it was un heard of for kids, only 1 in like, 10,000 kids had it and I happened to be one of them. Naturally since not many kids had it, fingers were pointed by the medical industry towards the males of the family which was complete crap and unfounded. Since I've gotten older, it's become more Common.... sadly, amongst So many Americans (and I'm sure people abroad). I personally blame the Pharmaceutical & Food industries.... I believe they are hand in hand with making money off of people who eat the foods and wonder why they are sick. Anyway, back on track to where I was going.
Having U.C. Absolutely stinks. Having "Severe" U.C. is even worse.
Let me break it down for you of some of the things I deal with....
1. Anxiety
This is the feeling that hits when you are riding in a car with NO bathroom in sight and that sudden onset Urge hits, with the hot flashes and you feel like your going to implode, explode and the world will cease to exist unless you find a bathroom. Your heart races out of your chest, your breathing like you are running a marathon and the feeling of pure panic feeds it because you know you Won't make it to the bathroom in time.... then there's the anxiety of "If I do find a bathroom, is it a 1 seater and if it is a 1 seater, will it be out of order or will someone be in it? Will the bathroom be at the BACK of the store?. etc etc. etc. " so all of this is going through your mind while you try to not fly apart from the inside out.
2. Humiliation
This is the feeling if you Don't make it to the bathroom in time. You become a blubbering mess while trying to clean yourself up and not make too much noise as to concern people passing by the door.
It just chips away at your dignity little by little, but we don't really tell anyone cause they just "won't get it" so we keep it quietly to ourselves wishing people understood our peril, but not wanting to let the secret out because it's a hard cross to bear.
This is also the feeling when you Do have to explain to people Why you have to suddenly dodge out of a conversation due to uncontrollable tummy urges, and not that you aren't interested in them as a person. (Yes, it's gone that far for me!)
3. Despair/ Hopelessness
This feeling appears when you want to go places and are confined to your home/ BATHROOM when you have a flare up or ate something that didn't agree with you. It happens quite often and we can be mistaken for hermits.... thus why we want You to come to Our house to visit. Our bathroom is much more comfortable and we know where everything is in it.
It's not that we don't want to go places and do things, it's just that if there is no bathroom, the anxiety level is raised so high that we just can't enjoy ourselves while waiting for the inevitable to happen.
4. Frustration
There is a big level of frustration that is dealt with, knowing you Have to go places, i.e. Doctor's offices, grocery shopping and wanting to go places to be a part of the family. The worst part is pressure to be with the family on an outing, not wanting to miss out & make memories, but your tummy just doesn't want any part of it. This creates stress which in turn makes the problem even worse. It becomes one viscous cycle that seemingly never ends. This too, becomes part of the frustration, being stuck in a health rut .... "When will this ever let up?.... Why me? ..........etc etc etc."
One thing that I must ask anyone reading this who knows someone with even mild U.C..... be SUPPORTIVE. Don't be upset when you have to take a few more bathroom breaks on the road trip, it's OKAY. Yeah, it will take a little longer to get there, but that's part of the trip is the journey! Don't roll your eyes or huff whenever they have to go to the bathroom... this causes more stress to the U.C. sufferer and makes us feel like complete crap as a person. We are worth waiting for and if you don't want to put that time and effort in, then find someone else. Plain and simple. If you truly Love someone, you will be LOVING and Patient! Cause I can bet you, they would do the same for you if the shoe was on the other foot!
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Snow... the dreaded 4 letter word....
As of this winter, SNOW has become a dirty little word in my book.
Most of the time we enjoy it because we can be with our families, play in it, make snow cream.... but such has not happened this year. This year we were hit with an ICE storm here in Western NC and it made for a Very.... very long week. Since we have many mountain roads around here, it causes snow days because the buses can't get to the kids.... being in the country, you don't always get your road snow plowed the first day unless you have neighbors who have the snow plow hook ups on their truck or ATV. Luckily, we have 1 of each on our street.
This year's snow has not been so fun. We were told a couple of days ago that we would get an inch and as always, the weather people are Wrong. Way wrong in this case. We got 5 inches. FIVE. Not one, not two,.... FIVE. If you are from the north reading this, I'm sure you are scoffing, but for us here in this area, we Normally don't get this much nor have the equipment to take care of it all..... And everyone here thinks they can drive well enough in it... Not so.
Yesterday almost all 5 inches melted away, Thank you Jesus. Then,.... last night... we were blasted yet again expecting 4-8 inches.... I measured 6 in my front yard. I did somewhat enjoy this by watching the cats frolic in the chest deep (to them!) snow and then I caught my 6 yr old off guard with a nice big Snow ball. How satisfying.
After being in the house for however many weeks due to now sharing 1 vehicle between hubby and myself, I found the sudden urge and strong need to get outside and do something. So I did. I shoveled the elderly couple's driveway. Needless to say, I overdressed and nearly passed out from overheating.... leave it to me to shovel SNOW and overheat myself. It's ok, you can laugh. I did after I was in the house panting like a dog on a hot summer day with no water. But I must add that they did show me their gratitude with some amazing Home made Blueberry Scones. Mmm. By the way, there's none left.
With all of this mind, I do have a 6 yr old who has been out of school from said Snow Days for 6 days now... Cabin fever is getting to us both. On top of the being snowed in, cabin fever and heat exhaustion, last night the washer crapped out, and 2 nights ago... our master bathroom toilet is "out of order".... meaning we have to use the hall bathroom... no biggie.... Until our 6 yr old is trying to beat the door down because it's "his" bathroom and also says it's the "boys" bathroom.
Look kid, You Want me to use this bathroom and as far as I'm concerned, there are Plenty of trees outside with Your name on them. Go write your name in the snow, kid.... leave me be.
With all of the circus at my house going on, I couldn't be more ready for Spring. I love Spring. The temps are just right, baby animals are born, the buds are blooming ... no more... SNOW.... and I can start my meager little veggie garden.
Bring It.
Tuesday, February 24, 2015
Snow. Rockstar. Sewing.
Hey yall! I know it's been a while since I've blogged and the main reason is because I couldn't find the page to log in with.... as silly as that sounds.
Besides that, I've been very busy lately. I don't know if I've blogged about it before, but I will catch you up...
Since I last posted, I have become the young teen girls' leader at our church. I've also become the webmaster & social media leader; it means that I maintain the official website and the Facebook & Twitter accounts as well as making/fabricating the graphic ads and flyers for our events. I even had one more hat that's been added to all of that for the church.
Besides all of that volunteer work, I have been doing alterations, custom jobs and making a ton of stuff for the upcoming SC Comicon in March. It will be my second year as a vendor and it's So much fun! Last year was it's first year and they had over 7,000 people come through the doors in just 2 days!
I have been so inspired by all of the amazing tutorials on Pinterest. Did you know you can Follow Me?
Make sure you check out my official Facebook page!
Labels:
accessories,
alterations,
atomic cat creations,
comic con,
comiccon,
comics,
crafting,
crafts,
custom,
follow me,
pinterest,
sales,
SC Comicon,
seamstress,
selling,
sewing,
South Carolina,
tutorials,
upcycle,
vendor
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)